Kiiwi

Klack alternative for Mac: Kiiwi vs Klack

Updated October 2026. Prices and features checked against each app's own website and Mac App Store listing.

Klack and Kiiwi both make your Mac keyboard sound like a mechanical one. Klack has been around since 2023 and is on the Mac App Store. Kiiwi is newer, sells direct, and covers your mouse and trackpad as well as the keyboard.

If you're comparing the two, here's the honest version, written by the person who makes Kiiwi.

The short answer

Kiiwi vs Klack at a glance

KiiwiKlack
Keyboard sounds30 named switches, 36 recordingsNamed switches (its site lists 7, including Cherry MX Japanese Black, NovelKeys Cream and Everglide Crystal Purple)
How the sounds are madeReal recordings, each keyboard row recorded separatelyNot stated
Spatial audioYes, placed by key positionYes
Key-up soundsYes, on 22 of 36 recordingsYes
Mouse click sounds8 packs, plus scroll wheel ticksNot listed
Typing statsDaily keys, streaks, best WPM, top apps, share cardsUsage stats
Try before you buyHear every switch in your browser, in the playground and on each switch pageNot stated
Price$4.99 once for the first 100 buyers, then $6.99$4.99
Where to buykiiwi.appMac App Store, or on their website
macOS14 Sonoma or later15 Sequoia or later
Macs per purchase2Not stated

On macOS 14 Sonoma? Klack won't install

Klack's current App Store version requires macOS 15 or later. If your Mac is on macOS 14 Sonoma, by choice or because it can't update, Klack isn't an option. Kiiwi runs on macOS 14 and later, on Apple silicon and Intel Macs.

How they sound

Both apps play mechanical switch sounds as you type, with spatial audio and separate press and release sounds.

Kiiwi's sounds are real recordings, and the number, top, home and bottom rows of the keyboard were each recorded separately, the way a real board sounds different across its rows. Every sample is trimmed so the sound lands with your finger rather than a moment after it. Each key also picks one of five pitch variants, so a long sentence never sounds like the same sample on repeat.

Klack also randomises pitch and has a tone pad for tuning the sound. Its listing doesn't say how its sounds are made.

The best way to decide is to listen. Type in the playground to hear Kiiwi's switches one after another, or open any switch in the switch library to type on it and hear every key.

Switches

Kiiwi has 30 named switches, grouped by how they feel: linear, tactile and clicky. Some are recorded more than one way, stock and lubed, or on ABS and PBT keycaps, for 36 recordings in total. Highlights include the Holy Panda, Topre, Cherry MX Blue, Brown and Red, and an IBM Model M.

Klack's website lists seven switches, including Cherry MX Japanese Black, Everglide Crystal Purple, Oreo, Flurples Cardboard, Gateron Milky Yellow, Keychron Super Red and NovelKeys Cream. Three of those are in Kiiwi too, and you can type on them here: the Everglide Crystal Purple, Everglide Oreo and NovelKeys Cream.

Beyond the keyboard

Kiiwi also plays sounds for your mouse and trackpad: 8 click packs and scroll wheel ticks. It counts your typing (keys per day, streaks, your best WPM over a full minute, the apps you type in most) and turns your week into a share card. It only ever counts how many keys, never which ones.

Klack has its own extras: usage stats, sleep automations, notifications and AppleScript support.

Price and where to buy

Klack is $4.99 on the Mac App Store, and also sold on their website. Kiiwi is $4.99 once for its first 100 buyers, then $6.99, sold at kiiwi.app. Neither is a subscription.

One difference to know: Klack is on the App Store, so it installs like any App Store app. Kiiwi is downloaded from its website. It's notarized by Apple, so it opens like any other app.

Klack 2, MacBooks and the license

Klack 2. Klack's current release is 2.1.4 (May 2026), so "Klack 2" is the version you get today. It needs macOS 15 or later.

Klack on a MacBook. Klack's App Store listing doesn't name specific Macs, only the macOS version. If your MacBook runs macOS 15 or later, Klack will install. Kiiwi plays through the built-in MacBook keyboard and any external one on macOS 14 and later, on Apple silicon and Intel.

The Klack license. Klack is a $4.99 one-time purchase on the Mac App Store, and is also sold on their website. Its listing doesn't say how many Macs one purchase covers. A Kiiwi license covers 2 Macs, and it's a one-time price, not a subscription.

Which should you pick?

Questions

Is there a Klack alternative for macOS 14 Sonoma?

Yes. Klack requires macOS 15 or later. Kiiwi runs on macOS 14 Sonoma and later, on Apple silicon and Intel Macs.

Is Kiiwi cheaper than Klack?

They cost the same at launch: $4.99. Kiiwi's launch price is for its first 100 buyers, after which it's $6.99. Both are one-time purchases.

Does Klack have mouse click sounds?

Klack's App Store listing doesn't mention mouse sounds. Kiiwi includes 8 mouse click packs and scroll wheel ticks.

Can I try Kiiwi before buying?

Yes, and you don't need to download anything. Try how each switch sounds in the playground on the homepage, then open any switch in the switch library to type on it and hear every key, including the space bar, return and the separately recorded rows. If it still isn't right for you, Kiiwi has a 14-day money-back guarantee.

Is Klack 2 the current version?

Yes. Klack's current release is 2.1.4, from May 2026, and it needs macOS 15 or later. If your Mac is on macOS 14, Kiiwi is the alternative that installs.

Does Klack work on a MacBook?

Klack's App Store listing doesn't name specific Macs, only macOS 15 or later, so a MacBook on macOS 15 can run it. Kiiwi works on any MacBook running macOS 14 or later, on Apple silicon and Intel.

How does the Klack license work?

Klack is $4.99 once on the Mac App Store, and is also sold on their website. Its listing doesn't say how many Macs a purchase covers. Kiiwi's license covers 2 Macs, with no subscription.

Is Kiiwi on the Mac App Store?

Not yet. It's sold at kiiwi.app.


Klack is a product of its developer, Henrik Ruscon. Kiiwi isn't affiliated with Klack. Details were checked on 5 October 2026 and may have changed since.

Sources: Klack's Mac App Store listing (price, macOS requirement, features) and Klack's website (switch list).

TopicsKlack alternativeKlack 2Klack licenseKlack on MacBookKlack macOS 14mac keyboard soundstyping sounds for Macmechanical keyboard mac app

Hear Kiiwi before you decide

Type on any of the 36 recordings in your browser. No download, no account. Kiiwi needs macOS 14 or later, costs $4.99 once for the first 100 buyers and $6.99 after, and hears that a key was pressed, never what you typed.

Try the switches